Westfield State University Announcements


October 25, 2017: Call to action. Informational picketing at Westfield State

This is a call to action for MSCA members. The Board of Higher Education will be meeting on the Westfield campus on Tuesday, October 31st from 10:00 am – 1:00 pm in Scanlon Hall (Loughman Living Room and the Banquet Hall).

As you are aware, the MSCA (and other campus unions) have been without a contract for 117 days, as of today October 25, 2017. Information on the status of contract negotiations can be found through the following links through the statewide MSCA site:

July 9th update – contains language proposals by the BHE/COP
July 23rd – MSCA files charge of prohibited practice
September 18th update – contains financial proposal information
October 13th – MSCA files second charge against the BHE/COP
October 22nd – update to proposed language changes

We are asking for all hands on deck to engage in informational picketing as the BHE contingent enters and exits the building. This is one of the few opportunities we have to engage in raising awareness of our concerns.

We are asking those able to show up between 9:00 am -10:00 am and/or between 12:30-1:30 to show solidarity. Even 15 minutes of involvement is important. Wear your MSCA shirts! There are still some available in M, XL, and XLL at the Union Office in Parenzo #010 Wednesday, 10/25 from 10-4 or Thursday 10/26 from 9-4 for free. Any remaining t-shirts will be available on Tuesday. The MSCA will also have posters available on Tuesday or you can be creative and bring your own.

Per the WSU campus email from President Torrecilha, faculty and/or their classes are invited to attend the BHE meeting. If you attend the meeting, we encourage you to be respectful and professional, but you are highly encouraged to wear your MSCA shirts or the color blue.

October 18, 2017: Join our off-campus e-mail server

The Westfield Chapter of the MSCA has decided to pursue the use of an e-mail address server that is not hosted or owned by the state of Massachusetts. We have high hopes that utilizing an accessible off-campus e-mail server will enable and empower MSCA unit members to feel more comfortable reaching out to Executive Council members about pressing concerns on the Westfield campus.

Please join our mailing list to give us feedback, participate in discussions, and learn about future union actions and events.

Click the button below to fill out a google form – the responses are private and available only to MSCA admin. assistant Jonelle Coutinho.. If you are hesitant to submit electronically through google forms, you can submit your e-mail personally to westfieldMSCA@gmail.org, or come in person to the union office in Parenzo #010.

Please fill out our google form here.

October 6, 2017: Westfield chapter meeting

Moderator John Dempsey is convening a chapter meeting for Thursday October 12, 2017 at 3:00 pm in Wilson Auditorium B. All unit members are invited to attend as we will discuss bargaining updates and pressing concerns on campus for our membership.

September 8, 2017: Westfield chapter meeting

Moderator John Dempsey is convening the second chapter meeting of the semester. This chapter wide meeting is scheduled for Tuesday September 12, 2017 in Wilson Hall, Auditorium B at 3:15 pm. We will continue our discussion of the urgent situation facing our union here at Westfield and statewide.

September 1, 2017: Opening day chapter meeting

Welcome back! Chapter President Margot Hennessy has announced the first chapter meeting of the semester. This is an important meeting as we will discuss the implications of working without a bargaining agreement for the first time in many years. Our meeting is directly following the opening reception and is slated to begin at 10:40 am in Wilson Hall, Auditorium A and conclude by 11:30 am.